For Distribution to CPs

Press Complaints Commission

Chairman Sir Christopher Meyer

Members of the Commission
Matti Alderson
Roger Alton
Professor The Lord Chan
Edmund Curran
Paul Dacre
Jane Ennis
Mary Francis
Dr. Arthur Hearnden
Vivien Hepworth
Peter Hill
Paul Horrocks
Charles McGhee
Adam Phillips
Eve Salomon

The Right Rev. John Waine KCVO

Director

Tim Toulmin

From the Director

10 March 2005

Peter Bradley Esq MP House of Commons London SW1A 0AA

my my

Thank you for your letter of 7th March.

How good of you to concede my right to express views on your Right of Reply and Press Standards Bill.

I should have thought that the answer to your question about why I wrote to the Shropshire Star was rather obvious. You produced a press release about your bill which I am afraid was highly misleading about the PCC's record. In it, you also appeared to rely on a piece of research from Mediawise which, if you have read it, you will know cannot have come close to providing anything like a representative view of the PCC. It is a feeble piece of work by any standard.

Yet you did not approach us for the true position about our record on handling accuracy complaints and obtaining rights of reply where necessary – or even to ask for our point of view. The result was the misleading press release, upon which the Shropshire Star published a story.

I wrote to the newspaper to give it some facts on the subject – as well to share my view that your proposal is a total waste of parliamentary time. Perhaps you could let me know to what you are objecting as I am afraid I have no idea what it can be.

With kind regards.

Tim Toulmin

1 Salisbury Square London EC4Y 8JB Telephone 020 7353 1248 Facsimile 020 7353 8355 Textphone for deaf and hard of hearing: 020 7583 2264

email: complaints@pcc.org.uk web site: www.pcc.org.uk

fast free fair res Completes Commission